Crafting a killer UGC pitch

Use the 5 tips & watch your inbox blow up!

Hello, I'm Shannon Marie.

I'm a Brand Expert, Entrepreneur, Content Creator, and World Traveler with 15+ years in Product Development + Brand Strategy, including NIKE. I'm here to share insights with Brands & Creators to build and scale your business.

There's not a day that goes by without a talented UGC creator posting the following message: "I've been pitching to brands all week and am not getting the responses I should. Please help! Any advice?"

And guess what? They are not alone, we have all been there! Who remembers the first time they ever sent a pitch to a brand?

I remember mine. It was over seven years ago and consisted of a long intro about myself and a few sentences about "collaborating together." For some reason, I felt really confident in that email and was shocked when I heard crickets.

I mean, seriously, how could they not see the value I had to offer them? Didn't they know how much they needed me and how well we would work together? We're the perfect fit. Can't they see that!?

One week later, I sent a one-sentence follow-up email, and still nothing. I was crushed.

What did I do wrong?

What could I have done differently?

It didn't take me long to figure it out. Reading back through my emails out loud, it was really clear.

They were cold and impersonal. They were brazen without adding value. And most importantly, they sounded nothing like the relatable, passionate person I was.

From that point forward, I drastically changed how I communicated with all my clients, especially those I pitched to.

Today, I'm going to share my five tips for creating a killer pitch email that brands actually want to reply to.

1) Your subject is everything.

The first thing your potential client reads is the email subject line. And this determines whether or not they even open your pitch.

It's your job to ensure not only do they want to open it, but they are curious and want to read more.

Use a catchy HOOK or CTA in your subject line. You are more than familiar with these, so pick a great one.

2) Kickoff your first sentence with a hook

I know what you're thinking. We already have a hook in our subject.

But that just got them to open our email, now we need to keep their attention as we have a lot of valuable info to share.

3) Share a genuine personal story

After your hook, it's time to connect and evoke feelings. Share a story of why you genuinely like their brand.

Is it something you've used since you were young? Was it something that someone important gifted you, and you can't live without it? Did you discover their brand during a critical time in your life?

Consumers don't buy products and services; they buy transformations, relationships, and magic.

PRO TIP: Your personal story can be leveraged as input to your content. The better your story, the better your content.

This is your chance to make a genuine connection with them and what sets you apart from other creators.

4) Do real research, not light browsing

Checking their social media accounts alone is not enough. Google them. Read every recent article you can find. Find out what they have been up to.

Head to their website and read it all. What are their vision, mission, and value? What new products have launched or are coming soon?

Get to know the brand inside and out, they will know immediately when you do and when you don't.

5) Give value, and then give even more value

You need to know the brand inside and out to add real value. Adding value means a few things.

It means showing them opportunities within their business they may not see.

It means thoughtfully presenting ideas that will connect and resonate.

It means being able to quantify your value through actual metrics.

It means demonstrating how and why working with you will, specifically, will benefit them immensely.

Add as much intentional value as possible before ever suggesting a partnership.

PRO TIP: The best way to show them your value is to create a sample video demonstrating all of the above, adding it to your pitch, and making it easy for them to see how much they need you. Yes, it takes more time to do this...but it's also what sets you apart from EVERY other pitch they receive. Try it and see!

Next Steps

Use these tips for your next email pitch and see how it changes everything for you and your business.

Give these tips a try and let me know how it goes!

Have a topic or burning question? Email me at [email protected], and I will include it in a future post!

Was this helpful? Subscribe for FREE insights like this + more!

Don't feel like building your Creative Biz all on your own?

No worries, I got you! I've built 50+ brands to 6+7 figures and have tackled all the groundwork, so you don't have to. You get to tap into my 20+ years of experience, steal EVERY asset I've developed to build a thriving business and have 24/7 access to me.

No More Confusion. No More Struggling.